Graduate Students  
     

Benjamin Bigelow, benja.bigelow@berkeley.edu

Zachary Blinkinsop,blinkinsop@berkeley.edu

Adam Carl, adamjcarl@berkeley.edu

Jenna Coughlin, jcoughlin@berkeley.edu

Christian Gullette, cmgullette@berkeley.edu

Monica Hidalgo, mhidalgo@berkeley.edu

Ida Johnson, idamoenjohnson@berkeley.edu

Erik Schjeide, eschjeide@berkeley.edu

Erik began his exploration of Scandinavian culture while studying furniture making in Norway. He earned Norwegian journeyman’s papers and a håndverksbrev as he worked in shops in Norway and Germany. Erik set up workshops in California and Oregon, and he has designed and made custom furniture for many years.
His interests in art and computer graphics drew him to College of the Redwoods and Humboldt State University, where he respectively earned an AS and BA in Multimedia Design and Communications. Thereafter Erik taught cinematography and audio production classes at Humboldt, and he has been involved in several film and video projects. While working as a lecturer, he simultaneously attained a BA in German Studies.
Erik earned his MFA in New Media from University of Donau Krems, Austria. His art projects focused on stop-frame animated filmmaking. The narratives of the animations are informed by the research component of his MFA and master’s thesis, which are investigations of Norse mythology. Erik’s continued interest in the cultural treasures of Scandinavia has led him to broaden his scholastics at Berkeley. He began his studies here in 2008. To view some of Erik’s projects, visit: http://www.hummm.net/scandinavian/

Rosie Taylor, rosie.taylor@berkeley.edu

Ian Thompson, ijthompson@berkeley.edu

Back to top

 
   

People | Undergraduate | Graduate Program | Resources | Courses | Events

 
 

University of California, Berkeley, Department of Scandinavian
Contact | August 6, 2014